Baja tour group recommendations?

Discussion in 'Trip Reports' started by 49north, Dec 5, 2015.

1. 49north

49north Paddler

By the time January/February roll around in Vancouver I will need some sun! This is a great place to live but the persistent winter rain/grey skies/4:30 darkness get to be too much for me.
    I'm thinking of signing up for a guided trip in Baja. I'm familiar with the general landscape (the usual trips to Cabo, but also windsuring at Los Barriles), so expecting to find something generally in the La Paz/Loreto corridor.
    I've scanned a bunch of websites, but what I'm finding are trips that run about 5 days (fine) but look kinda dull (geared for complete novices). Then there are more challenging trips, but running 8 - 12 days, which is too long for me. I'm looking for that Goldilocks not-too-easy, not-too-hard intermediate trip that is somewhere around 5 days. I assume it will be camping, but mothership or even lodge-based would work, though I don't know if those exist in Baja.
    Anyone out there had a Goldilocks experience down there? Thanks!
    Jonathan

2. Astoriadave

Astoriadave Paddler

Jonathon,

I've not gone on any trips with Ginni, but I believe her group likely will tailor things to your needs. She has been at this for a long time, and really knows her stuff. Very professional, very personable.

https://seakayakbajamexico.com/our-trip ... -overview/

3. 49north

49north Paddler

I'll have a look - thanks, Astoriadave.

4. JohnAbercrombie

JohnAbercrombie Paddler

I asked a friend who has been kayaking in Baja several times.
    The response:
    For myself, I've taken a couple of classes with Ginni Callaghan and I'd feel pretty confident signing up for a trip with her, if I were heading to Baja.

5. Astoriadave

Astoriadave Paddler