Finishing a pygmy kayak

Discussion in 'Boat and Accessory Building' started by meredith, May 1, 2016.

1. meredith

meredith Paddler

Hi All, I'm a first time builder and am near completing a pygmy stitch and glue boat (with systems three epoxy). I'm looking for advice on choosing a spar urethane for the final finish, as well as any tips on application. I don't have a sprayer but have a fairly well ventilated work space.
    Also, I've seen from some peoples posts, that they did a final sand and epoxy application before sanding again and finishing. I do have some places (mainly on the deck) where you can see the texture of the fiber glass cloth (not the actual cloth just the grid texture). Would another epoxy coat be advisable or just overkill. Additionally, is there a recommendation on how long to wait from the last epoxy work before sanding and finishing?
    Any opinions or advice would be welcome.

Thanks,
    Meredith

2. Kayak Jim

Kayak Jim Paddler

On the deck of my CLC kayak I used Pettit Z-Spar Captain's Varnish, applied with a foam brush. It provided a great finish that has stood up well. I used yellow Epifanes one part urethane marine paint for the hull and really like the two-tone look.

If you can see the weave pattern of the glass, it means you have not sanded enough. The varnish will not fill this. I probably spent as much time sanding and finishing as I did building the boat. If you sand some more and start to see glass fibres, this means you need more epoxy.

You can check the instructions on your brand of epoxy but generally if it has cured enough to sand, it has cured enough to apply the finish. I like to use the fingernail test- if you can see any impression after pressing your fingernail into the epoxy, it hasn't cured enough. You'll know too when you start sanding, the epoxy will quickly clog the sandpaper if it hasn't fully cured.

3. JohnAbercrombie

JohnAbercrombie Paddler

This advice is correct, IMO, but....