First time stitch and glue builder

Discussion in 'Boat and Accessory Building' started by jarhead, Jan 2, 2015.

1. jarhead

jarhead New Member

I am planning to build a kayak for my wife for her birthday. I have decided that a stitch and glue kit would probably be my best option. The first few of what I am sure will turn in to numerous questions are as follows.

1) Brands to steer toward or away from? So far Pygmy and Chesapeake are the two that keep coming up. I am in Saskatchewan and if there is a comparable Canadian brand that will save me some shipping costs I would not complain.

2) All of our paddling/touring has been in our tandem inflatable, I am considering a double or even triple (so that I can still paddle as a single without having trim issues) if that is not too much to pull off for a first time builder. I have some carpentry experience, but have never built a boat before.

3) I am welcoming any and all input/previous experiences. Before I dive in too deep I would love to hear from others. Any comments, questions, tips, concerns…

Thank you all in advance

2. mick_allen

mick_allen Paddler & Moderator

both pygmy or clc shearwater doubles will give you fine boats. Dan's got a build log of the pygmy dble on the building pages that you could check out as well:
    http://www.westcoastpaddler.com/building/index.php?cat=2
    Triples at 30" wide are quite wide with high (ie lousy body ergonomic) cockpits so would mainly be for just tooling around.

[You've obviously been successful paddling a double, but many couples find singles suit individual paddling styles. That way, you could build 2 of quite differing types.]

3. Astoriadave

Astoriadave Paddler