Go Pro best practise

Discussion in 'Gear Talk' started by pad1982, Jul 20, 2016.

1. pad1982

pad1982 New Member

Hi folks. I've just inherited a used second hand GoPro from my nephew. I've been paddling for approx 18 months now but have never incorporated it with my passion for photography for fear of water damage to my camera. I am totally new to GoPro's but appreciate that they are waterproof and designed for exactly this kind of use without fear of damage. My question is what have others found to be the best way to mount their GoPro while paddling? Is it best to mount it to the kayak or head mount it to one's self? (see photo) It's all new to me so any tips or advice would be much appreciated.

2. pad1982

pad1982 New Member

I did a search for kayak mounts for GoPro and it seems there are numerous options. What have others found to be the best angles to mount at?

https://www.google.com/search?q=gop...ved=0ahUKEwjOtKSthIbOAhVGGpQKHcA3AmoQ_AUIBygC

3. scott0_1

scott0_1 New Member

4. pad1982

pad1982 New Member

Thanks for the pointers scott0_1. The video was especially helpful in giving me an idea of what to expect. I'm thinking that kayak mounted rather than head mounted is going to prove the better route to go.

5. scott0_1

scott0_1 New Member

Way more comfortable! The suction cup also lets you move it around your boat to get different angles.

6. Peter-CKM

Peter-CKM Paddler

Some random thoughts.

Suction cups work great with composite (and likely thermoformed), but not with rotomolded plastic. No matter how you attach it, make sure you leash it.

If it is not a version with a remote, you pretty much need it to be within reach so you can turn it on and off. Helmet definitely works. Maybe in front of you, but within reach. Or on a mast, if you can move the mast around to turn on and off.