Haida Gwaii, independant our tour operator?

Discussion in 'General Paddling Discussions' started by Furansoa, May 4, 2014.

1. Furansoa

Furansoa New Member

Hi,

I've been paddling on the WC for a few years, mostly in sheltered or half sheltered area. I have never done guided tours (ski, hike or kayak), but was wondering what people on this forum thought about going to Gwaii Hanaas unguided. We don't have a particular spot we want to hit, but was thinking of perhaps going from Rose Harbour to Burnaby Narrows...

What would you recommend? We are 2, are used to be in the wilderness and not too keen in paying +1800$ for a trip per person...

Any thoughts?

Thanks

2. RobP

RobP Paddler

Get yourself a copy of "Boat Camping Haida Gwaii" second edition by Neil Frazer. Go online and query Mosesby Explorers, they can drop you off with your kayaks and gear, and pick you up again.

RobP

3. Astoriadave

Astoriadave Paddler

Furasoa,

I would do a one way going south, not north. The Frazer guide is phenomenal.

Get a dropoff somewhere near Marco Island, and go south as far as you like, then a pickup for return. Rounding Benjamin Point is the only spot where real care is advised, assuming you are experienced in small seas. Moresby can set you up with a good campsite suggestion near Marco. Water is cold, so rubber and paddle jackets are required. Take a tarp with cordage, and set it up each night.

Mainly, pay close attention to the fresh morning Environment Canada forecast each day, and stay in camp when gales are forecast. If weather prevents you from making Rose Harbour for a planned pickup, hail Moresby when they cruise by for pickup wherever you are. If you have 12 days or so, that allows for some shoreside bad weather layovers.

It is an incredible place, and lots of great campsites, things to see.

4. Furansoa

Furansoa New Member

Hi,

Thanks for the information. I will get my hand on the book.