Kayak Camping Logistics

Discussion in 'Gear Talk' started by Jurfie, May 28, 2008.

1. Jurfie

Jurfie Paddler

Okay, okay...as you've probably been able to tell from previous posts, I'm a complete kayak-camping noob and know very little. So I need someone with much patience to walk me through the logistics of what gear is needed, how you fit all that gear into a kayak, transportation and storage of food (including perishables, and how long they last), how much water one needs to take per day, enviro-friendly cleanup (dishes and self), etc, etc.

I'm planning on a trip to the Brokens in August, for 3 nights (I know it isn't enough time to see, well, anything, but it's all I've got this time), and I'm at a loss for how much to bring.

Help! 8)

2. rider

rider Paddler

My 3 rules :
    #1 Long and relatively light items go in the bow.(foamie sleeping pads, tent poles)
    #2,take what you actually NEED,keep redundancy to minimum.
    #3 Chunky soup is king.

Water-i go by about 4 liters per person per day,which includes some for washing your face before sleep and washing hands before eating.
    Dishes-use metal dishes, scrub them with wet beach sand and rinse out with fresh water. Works like a charm.

3. DarenN

DarenN Paddler

first of all, and above all else, you must have a Trangia kit. :wink:

i get by easily on less than 2 liters per day of water.

perishable foods can be dehydrated at home and carried for weeks without fear of spoiling. beef, fish, and chiken/turkey can be made into jerky. fruits and veggies can be dried and reconstituted in camp. heck, entire meals can be done in the dehydrater, bagged in serving sizes, and 'just add boiling water'.

Daren.........

4. RichardH

RichardH Paddler