Let's talk about tents (again).

Discussion in 'Gear Talk' started by Jurfie, Apr 23, 2008.

1. Jurfie

Jurfie Paddler

I want to start picking up some camping gear, so I'm in the market for a tent. And I'm a complete tent noob! I've read over the other threads until my eyes glazed over and I got more confused... :?

I want a tent for 2 people. Not a 2-person tent, but a tent for 2 people. Roomy, but not too big that I'll never find a suitable place to pitch it, and small/light enough to carry in a kayak (obviously). I'm 6'-6", so it has to be big enough that I don't touch the ends and end up wet with condensation.

I'd prefer to buy new, and hopefully not break the bank. $200-300 range or so? Any suggestions? I may to go to MEC this weekend to kick some tires.

And before someone suggests a Hennessey hammock; I'd like to eventually get one of those for when I go camping without the wife.

Thanks in advance!! 8)

2. rider

rider Paddler

If you want a freestanding tent with lots of space for 2 people,MEC Wanderer 2( the netting version for 3 season use), MEC Tarn 3 should probably be at the top of your list. Go with the Wanderer if you want 2 doors/vestibules, the Tarn if you're fine with one. Also, if you're fine with a hoop style tent without real vestibules to speak of(but it does have 2 doors), check out the Eureka Spitfire Duo, the roominess(especially length) impressed the hell out of me, especially for it's compact size(packed) and fairly light weight and also at a good price point.

3. Jurfie

Jurfie Paddler

Actually, after my initial search, those two were the starting point. Comparing the two, it appears the Tarn 3 is a little roomier, plus there is some extra height at the door. I also wondered if it was worth stretching the budget for the MSR Elbow Room 3?