Listening in from the Okanagan.....

Discussion in 'General Paddling Discussions' started by Kasey, Sep 5, 2005.

1. Kasey

Kasey Paddler

Hi everybody! I found your site a little while ago and have been enjoying it so much and thought I should say hi and introduce myself. I have been paddling for 2 years now on lakes in the Okanagan and have really like it but didn't fully get the "bug" until early in the summer when I got out on the coast off Denman and Quadra Islands twice. I am now totally addicted and have joined the Kelowna Canoe and Kayak Club and gone out with them a few times and met a few more paddlers. I hope to get out to the coast more since my sister got the "bug" at the same time and is working on buying a kayak. I'm finding it is very important to find people that you can learn from. I took a lesson on wet exits/rescues and then bought two Current Designs kayaks and spent the first year just paddling with friends that had never been out before. Especially after being to the coast I realized I wanted more....addiction = needing more? :wink: The more I can learn then from the club here and from forums like this the better.....so hope you guys (and gals) don't mind if I hang around and learn what I can from you?

2. andreas

andreas Paddler

welcome to the club :D

you are right, kayaking is addictive 8O this weekend i went out 4 times......... man that was good!

cheers
    andreas

3. Komatiq

Komatiq Paddler

Kasey Hi there !

If you run into Phil Soichuk up that way tell him "Jamer" said to say Hi and that I still use the Greenland blades I got from him a couple of years back........ :wink:

Word of caution on the new addiction.......... IT GETS WORSE !!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Cheers,

4. jurgenk

jurgenk Paddler

Hey Kasey, I have only been here a short time, but have found it populated by like-minded, considerate, and extremely helpful individuals whose only passion in life is to bring others into the same state of financial disrepair.