Necky Chatham 16 vs Wilderness Zephyr 160

Discussion in 'General Paddling Discussions' started by Swimmy Tim, Sep 22, 2015.

1. Swimmy Tim

Swimmy Tim New Member

Buying a new boat this year. I'd really appreciate feedback on either of these boats. I can get a pretty good deal on the Chatham right now, not on the Zephyr.

I want a boat mostly for day trips and the odd overnighter, in a wide range of conditions. Fairly new to the coast, and have just been demoing boats since living here. Tried the Zephyr and like it. A friend has the Chatham and he likes it. They seem pretty similar. Budget limits me to plastic.

I have 10 years experience whitewater kayaking up to class IV. Getting older though, and don't get out much on rivers these days. However, really enjoying getting out on the ocean. No shortage of trips from where I live in Nanaimo. Want to have my own sea kayak to keep the adventure going.

Thanks.

2. tiagosantos

tiagosantos Paddler

I'm sure there are lots of folks here who have paddled both boats.. Just hang on a bit longer :D In the meantime, while I haven't paddled the Zephyr, my understanding was that the Zephyr 155 is the direct "competition" to the Chatham 16. The 160 is probably similar, but made for bigger folks.

I seem to remember Ocean River Sports having a demo Zephyr for sale..

3. Swimmy Tim

Swimmy Tim New Member

Necky Chatham 16 details:

Length: 16.5 feet
    Width: 22 inches
    Weight: 60 pounds

Wilderness Zephyr details:

Length: 16 feet
    Width: 23 inches
    Weight: 54 pounds