Newbie - Hello Everyone

Discussion in 'Boat and Accessory Building' started by rookiebuilder, May 30, 2009.

1. rookiebuilder

rookiebuilder Paddler

I just joined this forum and this is my first post. I have been wanting to build a kayak for around ten years (ever since my first paddle in Tomales Bay). I am a mechanical engineer and I have a small machine shop so I usually build what I design and vise-verse.

Back then I was looking at the Guillemot stitch-n-glue. I input the basic geometry into the computer and have since changed things a bit. (My avatar is a rendering of the result but I don't know if it will display...). After modeling a new shape, I wrote some software to unwrap the panels to a flat plane and make a pattern.

It seems that life tends to throw all kinds of distractions at me so I haven't gotten any further along. I have had ideas of building it at my mom's on Whidbey Island as she lives 100 yards from the water. I kinda think I'll be much more likely to use it there (I live in northern California, not nearly as close to a body of water). I can see that this is a place that may help me keep my priorities straight (if you know what I mean).:wink:

Just in the few minutes I've lurked, I can see this can help me find materials and fittings that could save me time and money.

I haven't yet decided how big to make it though. I am considering a triple because of it's versatility. (I'd like to be able to paddle by myself or with a friend). I am 6'3" and 195 lbs so a single would be a decent size already. Your input is welcome.

2. Jurfie

Jurfie Paddler

Welcome! I can't offer any building advice, but I do like to follow along with the builds going on here.

Priority #1: Move closer to the water! :wink:

3. Tootsall

Tootsall Paddler