ROLLING

Discussion in 'General Paddling Discussions' started by tim_in_bc, Mar 29, 2005.

1. tim_in_bc

tim_in_bc Paddler

I am fairly new to kayaking and have been progressing through various skills but I am curious just how many sea kayakers have a reliable roll?

If you have a roll how long did it take to learn.

A buddy back east just took a rolling course and he was the only sucessful person to get the roll in a 2 day course. Is this typical?

2. Steve_Fairbairn

Steve_Fairbairn Paddler

Many years ago my exwife bought me a 4 hour private rolling lesson. During that lesson I was able to successfully roll twice, but with great difficulty. I am not athletically inclined by any stretch of the imagination so if I could do it, I'm sure anyone can with the proper instruction. Had the lessons been in a classroom environment I doubt that I would have been successful. BTW - I haven't attempted a roll since then and it is highly unlikely that I would be able to do one now.

It is a skill that I would like to revisit again sometime.

3. Mark_Schilling

Mark_Schilling Paddler

I have a very good book which details quite a few types of rolls. I haven't had any instruction, but so far I've been quite successful doing the first half of a roll. 8O

Joking aside, I haven't had any instruction (yet!) although I know (from the book) what I should be doing once I'm under. But trying to retreive that information while in the water, upside down, to complete the roll is something I haven't been able to do properly yet. I've done quite a few rolls with someone helping from the water... but no completely unassisted rolls yet. It's something I plan on mastering sooner rather than later.