Rudder cable needs replacing

Discussion in 'Gear Talk' started by cruzin, Jul 23, 2008.

1. cruzin

cruzin Paddler

Hi all,

I had my rudder cable give out on me for the very first time the other day. Is this an easy fix or should I bring it into a shop to get it replaced? Also, should I replace the other cable at the same time? I've never had to do any repairs on my kayak before so it's pretty new to me.

2. Astoriadave

Astoriadave Paddler

I'd guess from your description you might be happier if someone familiar with stainless cable and the process of attaching endpieces did the job. You need some tools to do the job right.

And, yes, replace both cables. Likely the second one is getting close to retirement, also,

3. cruzin

cruzin Paddler

I've never done it before and was never shown how. I figured if it was an easy job I would give it a try...but if it was more indepth I'll let the pros do it. Too bad there aren't any courses on kayak repair and maintenance. I would definitely sign up.

4. cruzin

cruzin Paddler

Ok, I'm finally getting the courage to take the plung and try to do it myself. I checked out the cable that is still attached to the boat and the parts look pretty decent and easy to follow. Is there a particular stainless steel cable size I need to buy? Hopefully I can find these parts at the local hardware store.

Wish me luck!

5. Astoriadave

Astoriadave Paddler

Nope. You need stainless cable and small nicopress sleeves, all of which you can get at the local marine supply store. Setting the sleeves is the critical part, which can be done using a pair of vise grips. But, you need to practice setting them, so get a few extra and some extra cable.

One other tip: estimate the length of cable needed, add two feet, and tape the replacement to the old one (electricians tape) so when you withdraw the old cable (cut off the end fitting), you draw the new one through. Threading a fresh end can be a bear.