• We apologize for the somewhat convoluted sign-up process. Due to ever-more sophisticated attacks by chatbots, we had to increase our filtering in order to weed out AI while letting humans through. It's a nuisance, but a necessary one in order to keep the level of discourse on the forums authentic and useful. From the actual humans using WCP, thanks for your understanding!

Sea Sock

yannick

Hi there.
I have just finished building my very first skin on frame kayak. I am very new to the world of kayaking and was wondering if anyone has ever used / made a sea sock. I understand they are an important safety feature to have when using sof kayaks ?
I am really looking forward to getting out on the water, and a dry suit seems like a must at that time of the year...Their prices can be a bit forbidding, but I heard through the grape wine that you could find more affordable ones on Ali baba.com. Was wondering if anyone has ever gone that way ?
Thanks a lot everyone ! IMG_0154.JPG

Flotation bags (air bags) and/or a sea sock are essential in a boat without sealed compartments and bulkheads, IMO.
I tried to buy a drysuit on AliBaba a few years ago after watching a YouTube video by an American who had a great review of a direct-from-China drysuit. My transaction didn't go through, as it seemed the AliBaba system didn't like my credit card...the same credit card I use very frequently on AliExpress. A friend here in Victoria ordered a suit from China (Ali Express?) and the fit was terrible, in spite of advertised suit dimensions which looked appropriate. I think there were also some quality issues. It cost him a lot to send back the suit, so the refund wasn't a lot of consolation. Hopefully you will have better luck if you order from China!