which pygmy kit

Discussion in 'Boat and Accessory Building' started by wyliewesty, Jan 5, 2009.

1. wyliewesty

wyliewesty Paddler

I am going to buy a pygmy kit either a Coho hi, Artic turn hi, or qcxl. My weight is 250.#'s, 6'4" tall and shoe size 11. I have no experience kayaking and this kayak will be used mostly for day paddling and camping trips lasting 3-5 days.
    I contacted pygmy and have been told that any of these boats I mentioned would be good for me. Is there anyone here my size that has experience with either the coho hi or artic turn hi. Out of the 3 boats I prefeer the look of the coho but am not 100% convinced that it will work good for someone my size and experience. Any advice would be great .
    Thank's,
    Bill

2. Astoriadave

Astoriadave Paddler

Bill,

Could be that some butt time in a "high volume" boat would help you quite a bit as far as deciding how comfortable you would be in any kayak. The QCXL is probably the best fit for you presently ... but as time goes on, you might decide the Coho HV is more fun.

I've paddled a QCXL, and traveled with a guy about your size for a couple longer trips (1-2 weeks) who loved his. It is a cargo barge ... but I'm 5-10, 220 lbs, with size 9 feet, and I suspect the Coho HV is about right for me and my style of paddling. If I were larger and heavier, not so sure about the Coho HV. I paddled the regular Coho once, long ago, and found it a very nice boat, but it is a bit smaller than the boat I have used for over 10 years.

If your main use were only day trips, I'd recommend the Coho HV. But, considering you plan on longer trips, I think the QCXL would be the best, safest bet.

Oh, I think the Tern is too small, even in the HV version.

3. Dan_Millsip

Dan_Millsip Paddler & Admin