Work Table for a Coho Build

Discussion in 'Boat and Accessory Building' started by Doug.Gentry, Apr 14, 2012.

1. Doug.Gentry

Doug.Gentry New Member

Hi everyone, I'm brand new to this discussion board so please forgive me if I screw anything up.

I'm about to purchase a Pygmy Coho .. in a box and build it myself.

I was just looking through a slide show about a man that built his. In the slides he said he build a table 18 ft long in 6 foot sections and I think it was 30 inches wide? In the narration he stated that it was a bit narrow to lay the panels all out.
    My question is, if I build .. when I build the table what width would you make it? I have a fully heated dry 2 car garage dedicated to this. The cars can sit out side. So room is not a problem.

I also saw that he had a few 2 x 4 that sat upright with what looked like some carpet strips nailed at the upright ends and the kayak sat suspended in that later in the views.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.
    I'm sure I'll have loads of questions as I progress, right now I'm just trying to get everything set up and ready to go before it arrives.

Thanks

Doug

2. JohnAbercrombie

JohnAbercrombie Paddler

Doug-
    Welcome to the WCP site!

I've built a few stitch and glue (S&G) boats, including a Pygmy Arctic Tern 14.

I think a work surface 24" wide is plenty for this sort of work. A 4x8 sheet of plywood, and some 2x4 or 2x6 will make a 2 x 16 table. It doesn't have to be overly sturdy - just get a bag of deck screws and put it together quickly.
    You could even support it on sawhorses, and avoid making legs for the table.

The ends of the boat can hang over the table if you are building a kit. If you need to lay out the parts from a plan (or offsets), a full-length table is better.

With S&G you can move the work around (unlike a stripper where the boat is on forms attached to a strongback), so the work is easy.