Yet another rolling video

Discussion in 'General Paddling Discussions' started by Pawistik, Jun 21, 2011.

1. Pawistik

Pawistik Paddler

Hi Folks,
    Since others are posting their videos I figured I'd post one of my own. This is my first attempt at linking together multiple videos, with a few snapshots added in to boot. The videos were from this weekend out at a small local lake in the prairie winds.

Like MartinZ, I'll solicit feedback on my technique. At one point in the video I set up for my "B side" roll, but I seem to get completely disoriented on that side so my attempt was quickly aborted in favour of my good side. My roll has a long way to go before I can call it "bombproof". I have a good stretch where it seems to go so easy and effortless, then I'll have a bad stretch where nothing seems to work. I know one of the things that happens when it's not working is bringing my head up early.

You can also find the video at my blog at http://pawistik.blogspot.com/2011/06/kayak-roll-practice-in-pike-lake.html

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6baPGSNGjIk[/youtube]

Cheers,
    Bryan

2. MartinZ

MartinZ Paddler

3. AM

AM Paddler

Hey Bryan,

Thanks for posting the video. I consider myself a good roller, but I have only limited experience teaching/coaching rolling, and I know that they are two different skillsets, so I am reluctant to give advice. Bad advice can lead to frustration, injury, or worse.

That said, I will tell you what I perceive, having watched the video a couple of times.

1) I notice that you are going for a sort of c to c roll, with a strong, sudden righting movement and your head/torso coming up pretty much perpendicular to your boat. Do you ever try more of a layback motion, with a bigger semicular arc that starts with your head on your foredeck and ends with your head on your backdeck?

2) I mention layback because on your head is coming up pretty fast while your paddle dives (1:37).