Advice on Buying a Used Kokatat Drysuit?

tinytj

Hi All!
Newbie here and apologies if this is not the right forum to ask this question.

I'm hoping to buy a used Kokatat Goretex Meridian dry suit for Ocean Kayaking as a new one is not in my budget right now.
Would anyone have advice on what I should check for (besides dry/stretched gaskets and general condition)? Any questions that I should ask? I'm not really sure how to assess the value of a used dry suit.
Is it OK/polite to ask to try a used suit on in this new age of Covid? (I'm pretty sure I'm a Large but I've heard some suits may have been customized to fit differently).
Many thanks for any suggestions!

Last edited:

JohnAbercrombie

Paddler
Are you prepared to DIY replace the latex gaskets?
Is it OK/polite to ask to try a used suit on in this new age of Covid? (I'm pretty sure I'm a Large but I've heard some suits may have been customized to fit differently).
Each seller is different. Who inspires more confidence in you - a seller who is very casual about COVID precautions, or somebody who is very 'fussy'?
If I had a drysuit to sell, I probably would be waiting until 'later' (whenever that may be....).

cougarmeat

Paddler
The point about the gaskets is worth considering. If they are worn, it doesn’t mean the suit was abused. Things wear out. A full gasket replacement - neck and wrists - may cost around $100. So consider if the price saving of the used suit is worth the difference over the long run - like 5+ years.

I bought a NRS suit at the end of the year sale (years ago) and it seemed like a good deal at the time. But NRS sizes run small. To fit in the chest, the suit had extra long (for me) legs. So there’s a lot of extra material in my NRS - fortunately it is decked out with Belt AND Suspenders. Hey! that’s what I advocate about gear on the Hammock forum :)