Camera Advice Wanted

SheilaP

Paddler
I just posted an ad in the "buy & sell" section, but I am looking for advice too!

I want to get a camera for us to take on a three week kayaking trip next summer. Only problem is, I am quite clueless in this domain.

How do you deal with batteries or charging? (We have no civilized stops.)
Do you need more 'memory cards.'
What else am I going to need?

:( I just don't even know where to start. I would like to find a second hand set up too or find out about and affordable set up.

Thanks all.

steele

Paddler
I am not a expert, but have some experience with this.

First you need to decide if you will be using the camera on the water. If so you will need a splash proof model or a dedicated water resistant case. This narrows your choices. If not you will still need a small dry bag to protect it from moisture even in your storage areas.

Modern memeory cards are cheap and have huge storage capacity, but you might consider at least one spare in case you go nuts with pictures or a card fails. Most retail card pakages have a table on the back indicating how many shots you will get for a given mega-pixal camera.

Many cameras have a dedicated, expensive rechargable battery. This would generate the need to travel with a photocell charger or hand crank. A better option is to choose a model that takes standard AA bateries. You could then still use rechargable AAs at home, but travel with extra single us ones on the water.

Consider a cheap mini plastic tri-pod. This will extend your photography by allowing self portraits and shooting in low light.

A good resource is dpreview.com. They provide unbiased reviews and have lots of practicle info on battery life, card type, size etc,

Tom

Mark_Schilling

Paddler
Just to cover the basics: