Need help choosing touring kayak plans

gatorkiter

Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum. I'm researching building a strip kayak and looking for plans that would fit my needs . I have many years experience woodworking but little knowledge of kayak types.
I plan on using this kayak in the intercoastal waterway (also called the Indian River, but it is NOT a river) near Melbourne, FL. Most of my time paddling will be near shore and in small tributaries, but to get to different shorelines, I will need to cross the "river" which can be as wide as 2 miles and can have small swells. Can most touring kayaks handle small (2'-3') waves? I am not a fisherman nor a racer. I mostly just want exercise and to explore. I am a skinny person so I don't want a design for larger paddlers. It needs to track well in wind, but I would like it to be responsive in smaller areas. I would not carry lots of gear in it, and not use it to surf in the ocean. Difficult builds would not scare me away.
Thanks.

mick_allen

Paddler & Moderator
Most touring kayaks would have to be able to handle what you want. I'd keep to the smaller widths 22" or smaller and say the 14-15 foot range.
It also might be worth considering a stitch and glue boat or so as some also would meet your size and requirements.
so look at the Guillemot, Thomasson, Redfish, Shearwater, Pygmy, and One ocean designs to see if any of the smaller models grab your eye and desire.
models such as cirrus, murrelet, spring run [might be too large], shearwater 15, petrel, etc might be interesting.

drahcir

Paddler
Lockwood is hoping to sell pygmy, although the virus is slowing things down. From the Pygmy web site: