Tying yourself to the boat - comments?

JohnAbercrombie

Paddler
Reading some of Freya Hoffmeister's website posts, I noticed that she ties herself to the boat.

I'm interested in this idea for solo paddling. Watching the boat float away is the stuff of nightmares. :yikes:

Does anybody have comments, techniques, etc. to share?

Thanks.

Astoriadave

Paddler
In her situation, I probably would: solo, very remote, rescue would likely be impossibly delayed in the event she lost the boat on a major crossing. She often paddles sans PFD.

nootka

Paddler
I've been doing this for a few years, specifically for
-kayak sailing
-going through Seymour Narrows solo
-surfing at Surge Narrows solo

I use a length of 3/4" poly webbing attached to the boat behind the seat
and attached to a belt of 2" webbing via a Wichard 2673 quick release snap.

The webbing is folded over itself so it makes a coil, which is held together with a loop of elastic material.

How you attach the webbing to the kayak is less important.
I use a Wichard 2454 snap hook. A less expensive option would be preferable.

Everything is under the sprayskirt.

mick_allen

Paddler & Moderator
I don't do it; and in moving water close to obstacles or shoreline for sure I wouldn't, but in the relatively open ocean it just might be an ok idea. I'd have to mock up several scenarios and see what the [entanglement] limitations might be in dumping and self rescue, but it does have some advantages.

JohnAbercrombie

Paddler
nootka said:

The webbing is folded over itself so it makes a coil, which is held together with a loop of elastic material.
Do you recall how long that 3/4" tether is?
I'm guessing long enough to clear the bow or stern ??

Astoriadave

Paddler
Skookum rig, Nootka. I would guess long enough to allow you to swim/haul yourself around bow or Stern would be enough. Like Mick says, definitely no need for length if transiting rough water, and any attachment should be a quick release like Nootka's.

nootka